RSS Feed

Scoops

Posted on

Tonight, my dear friend D and I had a friend-date. Unremarkable Thai for dinner (how great would it be if that had been the name of the restaurant?) and then a special performance of Easy Targets by The Burglars of Hamm at Sacred Fools. It’s a show I’ve done by people I like at a place I’ve worked, but the real draw was that it was a fundraiser for The Uma Fund. (If you need some good juju in your life, donate $5. Then brag about it to anyone sitting near you.)

Good deeds aside, one of the best parts about Sacred Fools is its proximity to Scoops, a small, cash-only, hipster ice cream parlor. I know, it sounds annoying – but the ice cream is SO STRANGE AND YUMMY. And these hipsters suck at math, so 1 scoop = 2 flavors. The flavors are ever changing, and I always feel a little guilty about the number of little plastic spoons I go through while narrowing down my choices, but I’m sure they have a magic recycling robot out back.

Anyway, behold tonight’s combo – Chocolate Lavender, and Mascarpone with Cacao Nibs.

I was shocked not to want the Jim Beam Coffee & Cream, as I usually love the boozy selection(s), but this was the way to go. I believe D got Banana Hazelnut (which tasted like ice-creamified banana bread) and Pistachio Melon. Both stupidly good.

And then we got to throw things at our friends for a good cause. Can you say perfect evening?

About feedonist

Jersey girl who loves LA. Cat people. Muppet fanatic. Newlywed. Mac usin', Prius drivin' liberal. Carnegie Mellon alum. New York Times crossword puzzle doer. Foodie and wine snob.

One response »

  1. Unremarkable Thai, just next door to OK Chinese… brilliantly accurate.

    Reply

Thoughts?

